Strange problem: Amazon Unbox video greyed out

One of the things that me and wife wanted to do this Thanksgiving weekend was to catch up on Season 2 of Heroes. I’ve actually been bad and have been watching without her on NBC.com (I’ve actually now caught up to the latest episode while hasn’t seen a single Season 2 episode, eeep).

I was feeling a little adventurous so I figured maybe I should give Amazon Unbox a try. Unbox is Amazon’s online video download/rental service. For $1.99, I ‘purchased’ the first episode of Season 2. It’s a high-quality video file (DVD quality), approximately 1 GB for a ~50 minute episode. It won’t let you burn to a DVD and won’t let you transfer to an ipod. It will only let you transfer to a PlaysForSure device, of which there are few.

Woe to my poor DSL connection, it took me about 40 minutes to even buffer enough video for me to start playing. Not a good way to start to make up to my wife.

Eventually, I tell my wife that we’re ready to watch. I press play and … hmm…why is everything have this grey wash? I fiddle with contrast, brightness, nothing. Uh oh. Weird. I restarted my computer. Nothing. I look guiltily at my wife and said, “Let’s just try Netflix’s Watch Instantly feature, instead“.

I still have not figured out why the video was like that. I deleted the video file and redownloaded it but no luck. I’m running Vista right now and I don’t know if that’s an issue. Unbox says that it’s compatible with Vista.

4 Responses to “Strange problem: Amazon Unbox video greyed out”


  1. 1 eric November 27, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    i am having the same problem as well with a episode of stargate sg1

  2. 2 George November 28, 2007 at 1:42 am

    Hey Eric,

    I emailed Amazon tech support and they said that we have to upgrade the DRM component on our PCs.

    I’m pasting their reply email to me, so it saves you the trouble of contacting them again.

    I just got home and I have yet to try this fix. Let me know if it works out for you.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Greetings from Amazon.com

    I apologize for the trouble you had downloading your Unbox content.
    The error you are encountering indicates that the DRM component on
    your computer needs to be upgraded. I have included below the latest
    DRM-Update, and a DRM-Security component fix from Microsoft. Please
    download and install the updates, then relaunch the Unbox player, you
    should no longer have this issue after that.

    Update for DRM-enabled Media Players (KB891122)
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=73C2650F-BE61-4BD6-8408-1FD6E7827CD8&displaylang=en

    DRM Security Component (Must be viewed in Internet Explorer)
    http://drmlicense.one.microsoft.com/Indivsite/en/indivit.asp

    FIX: When you use an application to play DRM-protected video… (KB939209)
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/939209

    If you are still encountering the same errors after installing the
    updates above please contact us again so we may further assist you.

    Thank you for contacting Amazon.com Unbox Video Downloads.

  3. 4 Abigail June 4, 2013 at 9:07 am

    Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! present here at this website, thanks admin of this website.


Leave a Reply

